Edison CU Coyote

 

May 2, 2015

I love taking my dog, Edison for walks. Sometimes I walk him on the street across from where I live because it is a beautiful neighborhood. Houses of different styles, shapes, and sizes, not cookie cutter style homes you see in a lot of developments these days. Two of the houses have ponds on the edges of their properties. Near one of the ponds, a flock of Canadian geese claim their squatter’s rights. Edison tries to bird dog the geese, but considering it is private property, I don’t let him. This curbing of his natural instincts aside, we both love this walk. It is just a beautiful old school neighborhood.

Apparently, we aren’t the only ones who enjoy the natural views. The other day, I was taking Edison for his usual morning walk. We were meandering on our usual route when we saw a four-legged creature some 200 feet away. Sporting no collar that I could see, it had pointed ears, a bushy tail, and a sly, slithering gait. Clearly, not the run of the mill, neighborhood dog.

This was not the first time I had seen this creature.  Two weeks ago, I saw him sneaking around near a different house, trying to blend in. My first guess was that it was a fox, but the second time I saw him I realized he was too big and too beige to be a fox. I looked at him. He looked at me, and we both went about our business. After further introspection, I realized this intrepid wanderer was a coyote.

My second encounter with Cruiser (the name I have randomly assigned him) was a little more precarious because this time, I had Edison with me. The three of us looked at each other and stopped in our tracks. Edison is a sociable spirit. His inclination was to embark on a doggy meet and greet. My instinct was for the preservation of my dog and myself.

Without sudden movement that could be mistaken for aggression, I steered Edison away from his wild cousin. (Don’t all Indian parents do that?) He didn’t get it at first. With his usual, excited smile, his look said, “Why aren’t we going that way?” I talk to my dog like he’s human, so I verbally said, “We are not going over there because he will f**k you up!” He still didn’t seem to get it, so I repeated, “You don’t understand! He will f**k you up!” I believe my dog read my nervous energy and has heard me say f**k enough times to know that he should go with Mommy on this one.

We continued in the opposite direction. Cruiser was still looking at us. Edison didn’t have a care in the world but I was thinking to myself, “Please god don’t let this animal go after my dog.” Coyote or Chihuahua, I’m not letting anything attack my dog. I didn’t want end up in the emergency room because I got mauled by a coyote. I turned around again and Cruiser was going on his merry way.

I don’t know what Cruiser’s business is in that neighborhood. He’s casing it for something. I don’t know if he has a wife, kids or if he’s on his own just looking for food. As long as he doesn’t try to get Alpha on Edison or make him his next meal, I’ll be cool with him. I won’t go ugly on the coyote.

We’ll just be happy travelers going on our own ways, which is my approach to people in life anyway.

Until next time… look behind and beyond the veil…

