WILLIAM-SHAKESPEARE Rabindranath-Tagore

Monday was World Poetry Day. While I have written verses that I choose to call poetry, I would not call myself a poet. I still sat down and thought about my favorite poems of all time. As I chose these poems, I marveled at the diversity of my own tastes. The poems I chose are not from one category. Most are love poems. Some are poems of resistance. Some are inspirational. I think your tastes in art are a reflection of who you are. I hope you appreciate this impromptu catalogue of eclectic linguistic artistry… And this glimpse of my eclectic nature.

  1. “When We Two Parted” – Lord Byron

 

  1. “Kubla Khan” – Samuel Taylor Coleridge

 

  1. “Cross” – Langston Hughes

 

  1. “If We Must Die” – Claude McKay

 

  1. “Still I Rise” – Maya Angelou

 

  1. “Out Beyond Ideas” – Rumi

 

  1. “The Breeze at Dawn” – Rumi

 

  1. “Black Blossom” – Rabindranath Tagore

 

  1. “Unending Love” – Rabindranath Tagore

 

  1. Sonnet 130 – “My Mistress’ Eyes on Nothing Like the Sun” – William Shakespeare

 

Until next time… look behind and beyond the veil…

